About the William R. Laws Human Rights Award

The Columbus Human Rights Commission 


The Human Rights Commission accepts nominations from the public for the William R. Laws Human Rights Award at the beginning of the year.  The recipient will be a member or members of the community or a community organization who have made a substantial contribution to the community of Columbus in any area or areas of human equality.  The most recent award was presented to Owen Hungerford and Bob Pitman, Executive Director of Mill Race Center.  Other Laws Award recipients include: Heritage Fund - the Community Foundation of Bartholomew County, Tim Solso and Joe Loughrey, Benjamin “Mickey” King, posthumously, Lee Hamilton, J. Irwin Miller, Gwen Wiggins, Tracy Souza,  Joseph High, the Rev. Duff Green, the Rev. Charles A. Sims, Larry Whaley, Juana Watson, Larry Snyder, Sarah (Kramer) Grey, Laura Hurt and Sondra Bolte.

The nominees for the Award should have made a significant contribution by doing one or more of the following:  (1) improving relationships among all peoples; (2) increasing the sensitivity of one group toward another group; (3) educating people to the barriers or eliminating the barriers facing people of color, women, persons with disabilities, religious minorities, or others who have been treated inequitably because of prejudice; or (4) using existing means or creating new safeguards to protect the rights of others.

The Laws Award recipient receive their award at the Human Rights Commission Annual Dinner.

For information, call the Human Rights Commission at 376-2532 or via email at:  humanrights@columbus.in.gov.

©2015 City of Columbus Indiana | Contact Us | Site Map | Website Credits