Staff and Commissioners

Aida Ramirez

Aida Ramirez, Director

Aida Ramirez joined the Human Rights Commission in November of 2013 as the Deputy Director.  Following the retirement of former Director Lorraine Smith, Ms. Ramirez took the position of Director in July 2014.  

Ms. Ramirez received her Juris Doctorate from the Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law in Indianapolis and obtained her undergraduate and graduate degrees at Purdue University in West Lafayette.  Prior to joining the Commission, Ms. Ramirez worked as a Judicial Law Clerk to the Honorable Louis F. Rosenberg, Judge of Marion County Circuit Court, via funding by an Indiana Supreme Court Grant.  Ms. Ramirez worked with judicial officers to increase access to justice in the Marion County Small Claims Courts by implementing the 2012 Indiana Court of Appeals Task Force Recommendations.  Ms. Ramirez’s selected accomplishments include increasing access to the courts for persons with limited English proficiency by translating documents, increasing access for persons with physical and hearing impairments, drafting uniform court forms, drafting a pro se litigant manual, and providing assistance in drafting local Marion County Small Claims Rules.

Prior to law school, Ms. Ramirez acquired extensive experience in academia at Purdue University, working both as a lecturer and a graduate assistant for various departments on campus.  While a graduate student, she worked as a Project Coordinator of the Purdue Student Wellness Office and managed a $300,000 U.S. Department of Education grant to prevent high-risk drinking among first-year students.  In 2011, Ms. Ramirez competed in the Honorable Robert H. Staton Moot Court Competition and was named to the Order of the Barristers.  She also received the Larry W. Suciu Windfall Award, the Norman Lefstein Pro bono Award of Excellence, the Betty Nelson Skilled Leader Award, and was a 1999 recipient of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Award in Lake County, Indiana.  Her volunteer work and activities include pro bono with the Indiana State Bar Association Young Lawyers Section, volunteer Judge for Moot Court Competition, and member of the Health Law Society.

Director- Aida J. Ramírez

Deputy Director- Molly A. Connor

Secretary- Heather Downin

       Commissioners                                      Term Expires

  • Gil Palmer                                                                            2017
  • Annette Barnes                                                                   2019
  • Trena Carter                                                                        2017
  • Ian Kohen                                                                             2019
  • Greg Lewis                                                                           2018
  • Tony McClendon                                                                 2018
  • Sameer Samudra                                                                2017
  • John Stroh                                                                            2018 
  • Richard Gold                                                                        2019
  • Matt Souza                                                                            2019
  • Wan Baba                                                                             2017



2016 Officers

Chairperson - Ian Kohen
Vice Chairperson - John Stroh
Secretary - Annette Barnes
Treasurer - Trena Carter 

City Council Liaison: Tim Shuffett
Commission Attorney:  Alan Whitted

©2017 City of Columbus Indiana | James D. Lienhoop, Mayor | Contact Us | Site Map